top

Newest Entry

Older Entries

Contact Me

Diaryland

Real Life


Inspiration:

Marnie Speaks


Current Knitalongs:

Intolerable Cruelty

2007-07-16 : 11:00 a.m.

previous - next

Knitting books abound - Pt 1

Yesterday I took all the money I got for my birthday and bought a bunch of knitting books and other things. One of the books I got was Amy Singer's No Sheep for You.
I have to say that I really enjoy this book. Though I'm sensitive to some 100% wool yarns, I am not specifically allergic to wool, but that doesn't really make a difference in this book because: a) It explains yarn substitution by fiber better than any other source yet and b) It includes amazing patterns. Every single pattern is super beautiful. It is like the best patterns that never got to be published in knitty.com.
I also like that it accepts acrylic as an alternative that doesn't always have to be nasty and it explores some of the newer fibers like bamboo and soysilk.
Ok, enough lauding...

Google